To content
Department of Mechanical Engineering


1971  Start of studies and teaching at the Department of Production Engineering at the University of Dortmund in the winter semester 1971/72
1971 Foundation of the Chair for Forming Manufacturing Processes (LUF)
1972 Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eberhard v. Finckenstein as chair holder
1978 First doctorates at the LUF
1997 Retirement of the chair holder Prof. Eberhard v. Finckenstein
1998 Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner
2000 Hall extension with additional experimental area and office space; acquisition of new machines and measuring equipment.
2002 Approval and spokesperson for SFB TR 10 (up to and including 2014)
2004 Foundation of the Institute of Forming Technology and Lightweight Construction (IUL) from the Chair for Forming Manufacturing Processes and expansion of research activities to include lightweight construction
2007 Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Erman Tekkaya replaces Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner, who has accepted the office of President of the German Research Foundation, as Director of the Institute.
2009 Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Erman Tekkaya
2010 Accreditation of the new international Master of Science in Manufacturing Technology (MMT) programme. The first students begin their studies in the winter semester 2011/12.
2013 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner resumes his work at the IUL.
2013 Construction of the new MB III mechanical engineering building begins.
2014 Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. E. Tekkaya becomes Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering (until 2016).
2014 Move into the new building
2014 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner is granted leave of absence to exercise his office as President of the Leibniz Association.
since 2015 Visiting Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Erman Tekkaya at Ohio State University, USA
2017 Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Erman Tekkaya becomes spokesperson of the newly approved SFB TRR 188