Notice: Due to planned maintenance work, the TU Dortmund websites will be unavailable for short periods of time several times on April 17, 2024 between 6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your understanding.
To content
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University Professor (ret.)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Matthias Kleiner


Matthias Kleiner completed his habilitation in the field of forming technology in 1991. In 1994, he joined the faculty of the newly founded Brandenburg Technical University of Cottbus as Professor of Forming Technology in the Chair in Design and Manufacturing. Professor Kleiner was awarded the most prestigious prize in German research, the DFG’s Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize in 1997. He responded to the call to the TU Dortmund University in 1998, where he held the Chair of Forming Technology.

From 2004 to 2006, he served as managing director of the newly established Institute of Forming Technology and Lightweight Construction (IUL). He has played an instrumental role in a number of international and interdisciplinary research projects and research networks and acts as a member of numerous international professional committees and academies. In 2011, he co-chaired the German “Ethics Commission for a Safe Energy Supply”. Matthias Kleiner was elected President of the German Research Foundation (DFG) in 2007. His six year-term of office as President of the DFG ended in December 2012. Matthias Kleiner assumed office as President of the Leibniz Association in July 2014.

Detailed CV (PDF)

Scientific Academies

  • Academia Europaea
  • acatech – Council of Technical Sciences of the German Academy of Science and Engineering
  • Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Science and Humanity
  • CIRP – The International Academy for Production Engineering
  • German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina
  • European Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • Indian National Science Academy
  • Russian Academy of Engineering
  • Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences

Advisory Boards

  • Global Learning Council, Chair
  • Open Science Policy Platform
  • STS Council and Board – STS-Forum Science and Technology in Society, Japan
  • Member of the Supervisory Board Futurium gGmbH
  • Advisory Committee Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) Tokyo
  • Board of Trustees, Max Planck-Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden
  • International Advisory Board for the Development of Competence Centers on Artificial Intelligence Research in Germany, chair
  • Member of International Advisory Board of Moonshot R&D at Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) Tokyo
  • Board of Evaluation of Doctoral Centres of Universities of Applied Sciences in Hessen,Chair

University Advisory Boards

  • Chairman of the University Council, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University, Frankfurt (until April 2021)
  • Board of Trustees, TU Berlin
  • Board of Trustees, Julius Maximilian-University Würzburg
  • International Advisory Board Faculty of Engineering, Twente University
  • Board of Govenors Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH (until September 2021)

Foundation Advisory Boards

  • Board of Trustees, Deutsche Telekom Foundation
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Fritz Thyssen Foundation
  • Scientific Advisory Board of the Excellence Initiative Johanna Quandt – Charité Foundation
  • Advisory Board, Werner Siemens-Stiftung, Switzerland

Professional Chairs

  • AGU – Working Group on Forming Technology
  • WGP – German Academic Society for Production Engineering
  • Board of Trustees, FOSTA Research Association for Steel Application

Consultant and Advisory Board

  • Tang Prize International Advisory Board, Taipei
  • Member of the Jury for the “Deutscher Innovationspreis”
  • Member of the Jury of the Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Science Journalism
  • Board of Trustees of the “Zukunftspreis” of the Federal President Cooperation

Cooperation Advisory Boards

  • Advisory Board, ALHO Holding
  • Advisory Board, Siepmann Werke
  • Advisory Board, Winkelmann Group