To content

IUL@ Girls*Day 2022

Lecturer at live experiment © IUL
IUL employee Joshua Grodotzki presents a live (remote) experiment

At the Germany-wide “Girls*Day 2022”, interested female students from grades 5-9 were able to gain an insight into the study of mechanical engineering, the potential professional fields of female engineers as well as the research activities at the IUL. 17 participants had registered for the IUL contribution to Girls*Day. The basic manufacturing processes were illustrated, for example, with Lego constructions and a kneading press. The focus was on forming technology, additive manufacturing and material characterization. With the help of various live experiments, some of which could be recreated at home, fundamental concepts such as stress, elasticity and plasticity could be explained and successfully transferred.

Calendar

To event list

Cafeteria menus

Location & approach

From highway “A1”

At intersection “Dortmund/Unna” change to highway “A44” in the direction of Dortmund, which becomes the B1. Take the exit “Dortmund-Dorstfeld”, in the direction of “Universität”. Turn right onto “Planetenfeldstraße”, after 850 meters turn left onto “Otto-Hahn-Straße”. After 1 km turn right onto “Marie-Curie-Allee”, after 550 meters keep slightly right to stay on “Baroper Straße”.

From highway “A45”

Take the exit “Dortmund-Eichlinghofen”, in the direction of “Universität”. Turn right onto “Stockumer Straße”, after 800 meters turn left onto “Baroper Straße”.

Please use parking lot entrances 40 or 41 for access to the “Maschinenbau III” building or entrance 42 for access to the Experimental Hall.

  • Arrival with DB to Dortmund or Bochum central station.
  • From Dortmund central station take the interurban train line S1 in the direction of Düsseldorf and get off at the stop “Dortmund Universität S”.
  • From Bochum central station with the interurban train line S1 in the direction of Dortmund and get off at the stop “Dortmund Universität S”
  • From the interurban stop “Dortmund Universität S”, take the elevated railway (“H-Bahn” stop “Universität S”) to the stop “Campus Süd”.

From Dortmund Airport

Take a cab to the TU Dortmund University, South Campus (“Campus Süd”) or take the AirportExpress in 20 min. to Dortmund central station. From there take the interurban train line S1 line in the direction of Düsseldorf to the stop “Dortmund Universität S” and from there the elevated railway (“H-Bahn”) to “Campus Süd”.

From Düsseldorf Airport

Take the interurban train line S1 in the direction of Dortmund and get off at the stop “Dortmund Universität S”. From here, take the elevated railway (“H-Bahn”) in the direction of “Campus Süd”.

Interactive map

The facilities of TU Dortmund University are spread over two campuses, the larger Campus North and the smaller Campus South. Additionally, some areas of the university are located in the adjacent "Technologiepark".

Campus Lageplan Zum Lageplan

Zum Inhalt

IUL@ Girls*Day 2022

Dozent erklärt Maschine © IUL
IUL-Mitarbeiter Joshua Grodotzki präsetiert ein (Remote-)Live-Experiment

Beim deutschlandweiten Girls*Day 2022 konnten die interessierten Schülerinnen der Klassenstufen 5-9 einen Einblick in das Maschinenbaustudium, die potentiellen Berufsfelder von Ingenieurinnen sowie in den Forschungsalltag am IUL erlangen.  17 Teilnehmerinnen hatten sich für den IUL-Beitrag zum Girls*Day angemeldet. Die grundlegenden Fertigungsverfahren wurden etwa mit Legobauten und Knetpressen veranschaulicht. Im Fokus standen die Umformtechnik, die additive Fertigung sowie die Materialcharakterisierung. Anhand verschiedener Live-Experimente, welche zum Teil zuhause nachempfunden werden konnten, konnten fundamentale Konzepte wie Spannung, Elastizität und Plastizität erläutert und erfolgreich übertragen werden.

Kalender

Zur Veranstaltungsübersicht

Mensapläne

Anfahrt & Lageplan

Von der A1

Vom Autobahnkreuz Dortmund/Unna auf die A44 Richtung Dortmund, diese geht in die B1 über. Ausfahrt Dortmund-Dorstfeld, Richtung Universität. Rechts abbiegen auf Planetenfeldstraße, nach 850 Metern links auf Otto-Hahn-Straße. Nach 1 km rechts abbiegen auf Marie-Curie-Allee, nach 550 Metern leicht rechts halten, um auf Baroper Straße zu bleiben.

Von der A45

Ausfahrt Dortmund-Eichlinghofen, Richtung Universität. Rechts abbiegen auf Stockumer Straße, nach 800 Metern links auf Baroper Straße.

Bitte nutzen Sie die Parkplatzeinfahrten 40 oder 41 für den Zugang zum Gebäude Maschinenbau III oder die Einfahrt 42 für den Zugang zur Experimentierhalle.

  • Anreise mit der DB bis Dortmund oder Bochum Hbf.
  • ab Dortmund Hbf mit der S1 Richtung Düsseldorf bis zur Haltestelle Dortmund Universität
  • ab Bochum Hbf mit der S1 Richtung Dortmund bis zur Haltestelle Dortmund Universität
  • von der S-Bahn Haltestelle aus mit der H-Bahn (Haltestelle Universität S) bis zur Haltestelle Campus Süd.

Zu den Wahrzeichen der TU Dortmund gehört die H-Bahn. Linie 1 verkehrt im 10-Minuten-Takt zwischen Dortmund Eichlinghofen und dem Technologiezentrum über Campus Süd und Dortmund Universität S, Linie 2 pendelt im 5-Minuten-Takt zwischen Campus Nord und Campus Süd. Diese Strecke legt sie in zwei Minuten zurück.

Vom Flughafen Dortmund

Mit dem Taxi zur TU Dortmund, Campus Süd oder mit dem AirportExpress in 20 min. zum Dortmunder Hbf und von dort mit der Linie S1 Richtung Düsseldorf bis Haltestelle Dortmund Universität S und von dort mit der H-Bahn bis Campus Süd.

Vom Flughafen Düsseldorf

Mit der S-Bahn Linie S1 Richtung Dortmund bis Haltestelle Dortmund Universität S. Von hier mit der H-Bahn Richtung Campus Süd.

Interaktive Karte

Die Einrichtungen der Technischen Universität Dortmund verteilen sich auf den größeren Campus Nord und den kleineren Campus Süd. Zudem befinden sich einige Bereiche der Hochschule im angrenzenden Technologiepark.

Campus Lageplan Zum Lageplan